A short explanation…

So you may think the title of this blog is a little odd.  And I guess you’re a little right.  I took the name “Weeks with Wings” from a quote in a book called Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer (READ IT) that says, “Each day has been chained to the previous one.  But the weeks have had wings.  Anyone who believes that a second is faster than a decade did not live my life.”

Seriously, one of my favorite books.

It’s so true, isn’t it?  Days seem to drag on and on, but years pass in a snap.  I will forever be amazed at how quickly my high school years whizzed by me and how my college ones are currently flying right before my eyes.  It’s incredible.  And it makes me want to soak up every second.  I know my upcoming trip to Europe will move just as quickly, that as soon as I arrive it’ll be time to leave, and I’ll be left believing weeks truly do have wings.

So here’s what I’m going to do about it.  I need some sort of way to slow it all down—a time-sedative, if you will.  And I think the only way to slow down time is to stand up to it, to push it to its limits by filling it out as much as possible.  I want to live by the words of Oscar Wilde in his The Picture of Dorian Gray (read this too) when he says, “Ah! realize your youth while you have it.  Don’t squander the gold of your days, listening to the tedious, trying to improve the hopeless failure, or giving away your life to the ignorant, the common, and the vulgar.  These are the sickly aims, the false ideals, of our age.  Live!  Live the wonderful life that is in you!  Let nothing be lost upon you.  Be always searching for new sensations.  Be afraid of nothing…”

That’s what I’m going to do next semester.  I’m going to let nothing be lost upon me.  I’m going to take in all the beauty and all the stress and all the mess-ups and all the joy that I encounter.  I’m going to search for new sensations by letting loose and taking risks.  Though there’s much to be scared of, I won’t let those worries hold me back, and I’ll give them to my Father who loves me.  I will be afraid of nothing.

I’ll just live.

3 thoughts on “A short explanation…

  1. Wow. I saw this wondering through the most recent blog posts on home page. What a beautifully written post! So many wonderful quotes and so lyrical!

  2. A very wise blog for such a young mind. Grasp every day that God has given you. Carpe Diem! I remember old people looking at our twin boy and girl when they were in their pram and each one saying, “before you know it, they’ll be grown up!” – they were all right: Tempus Fugit (Time Flies). Now I’m approaching middle age fast and yet I’m back at university doing a Masters and seeking out a PhD. God was the one who opened this door for me and I think how I could’ve done all this years ago, but then again, everything is in his hands and his timing is perfect. I just need to accept that my whole life, past, present and future is in his plan and “in all things God works for the good of those who love him” (Romans 8:28) so there’s no need to panic. We shall have all eternity to praise him anyway.

Tell me what you think!

