To-Do

Three weeks from today I’ll be boarding a plane to London.  Crazy, right?  It’s really sneaking up on me, and I know the next 21 days are going to fly by.  With my departure date approaching, however, I’ve been trying to come up with a to-do list…not the normal “go to Paris” kind but something more specific, more personal to me.

So here’s what I got so far (in no particular order):

Eat chocolate in Switzerland.

-Visit as many libraries as I can.

-Journal every day frequently.

Hang-glide over the Swiss Alps.  I went canyon jumping instead….I’ll call that good enough.

-Dance.

Run in a beautiful park.

-See Les Mis.  (Ok, that one’s sort of generic…)

Take a picture on Abbey Road.  (I guess that one’s pretty generic too…but I love the Beatles!)

Get to know someone from another country.  Know them and not just their accent.

-See the Achilles statue and marble arch at Hyde Park in London.  Both are mentioned in Dorian Gray, and the marble arch is mentioned in the song “Hallelujah.”

-Buy antique books.

See a movie in theaters.  (Well, maybe that one’s not as much of a goal as it is an excuse to go see The Hunger Games, The Vow, and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close when they come out).

-Ice-skate on an outdoor rink.

Buy something I wouldn’t normally wear.

-Go see Mayday Parade while they’re on tour in the UK.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with Mayday, here’s a sample.  It took me some time to get on board, but now I think they’re genius (I mean, one of their songs is taken from an Edgar Allan Poe poem….come on, it doesn’t get much better than that).

I’m sure I’ll be editing this post over the next few weeks as I think of more things.  That’s all for now!

Tell me what you think!

