“The Artist”

I’ve always loved movies.  After books and maybe music…and food…and, well I guess there’s a lot of stuff I love–movies are pretty high up on my list.  I really do love them, and though I wouldn’t say I’m anywhere near a film connoisseur, I can appreciate good filmography and movies that connect with me.

Last night, a group of us went to see The Artist in theaters.  It’s an American movie that was released this past November and is still out in many U.S. theaters, but my experience of seeing it was different.  We went to a tiny theater (called a “cinema” here to distinguish between the live theaters), sat on the front row, and got to enjoy a string of English commercials beforehand.  It was so fun being in a different environment, and The Artist was the perfect film to watch during this experience.  Now, before I say what I’m going to say next, keep an open mind.  Trust me…

It’s a silent film.  Yep.  Black and white with music in the background and sporadic lines written on the screen.  But though it’s old-fashioned, it’s beautiful.  I was a little skeptical about it at first, thinking I would easily get bored.  But the movie turned out to be excellent.  I would go so far as to say brilliant, as it explored the transition from silent film to “talkies” in America, while reverting back to the silent style itself.  The Artist was both hilarious and serious with much meaning without going too deep.  It was one of the most unique movies I’ve ever seen, especially for its time, and I would highly recommend it!  Go see it!

Tell me what you think!

