God wins

Every time I think God has outdone Himself in showing me His goodness through my college community, I’m struck again with something new.  And in the midst of the Boston and West tragedies this week, He has cleared the mist for a while and revealed Himself to us here at ACU.

The mothers of two precious girls in my social club (our version of sororities) are very ill, one with MS and the other with cancer.  These two friends and roommates are helping each other through the worry and heartache of watching their moms go through treatments.  For a while now, we as a club of girls have been praying for our sisters and their moms.  But today it was taken to a whole new level.  As one mother anxiously received test results and the other entered into an extensive, isolated treatment process, we fought a battle in Abilene.

UNDER THE DOME

My social club and our rival club joined forces beginning at midnight last night to combat these illnesses through constant prayer. We’re praying in shifts for 24 hours straight, and when I picture it, I see a dome of prayer surrounding these girls and their mothers.  As we pray, we are encouraging each other and wearing wristbands that say “Pray Continually” and “God Wins,” knowing He has the victory no matter what.

We always say God uses everything for the good of those who love Him, but do we notice when it happens?  I’m noticing it today as I see rival clubs put aside their differences and competitiveness and seek the Lord in humility.  In Genesis 50:20, Joseph tells his brothers who betrayed him, “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”  That’s power.  And that’s what I’m seeing today across the ACU campus.  Satan tries to use our differences to tear us apart, but God takes what was intended for harm and turns it into something great—something that can save lives.

My heart is so full.

Please join us in praying for these women and their families.  Pray continually, because God will win.  He already has the victory in so many ways, and we rejoice in that.  In all things, He is good.

Tell me what you think!

