A new song

I’ve been in Colorado Springs for one week.  It’s been a week full of early mornings, auto repairs, family reunions, mountain gazing, lots of driving, and CONSTANT phone charging.  (This last one is mainly due to the fact that I’m embarrassingly dependent on my iPhone GPS, which drains my battery faster than the weather changes in Texas [and I suppose listening to the Kidd Kraddick app while I drive doesn’t help much…].  Luckily, I know the Rockies are always to the west, so at least I’m somewhat competent during the daylight).  But I digress.

I’ve been here a week, and there’s already so much I love from the (obvious) astounding mountains to the rolling hills that are fun to drive on to the funky, fun downtown area.  And need I mention the weather?  It’s pretty much perfect.  I also love the cute Christian coffee shop nearby where they have wifi and don’t mind if you don’t purchase anything (AKA: me sitting in a corner watching episodes of New Girl on my laptop and laughing subtly to myself). And, of course, my internship—the reason I’m down here in the first place.

View from the side of my building!
View from the side of my building!

I’m interning at a Christian publishing company called WaterBrook Multnomah, a division of Random House. Though I have a laughable love for grammar and therefore always thought I’d go into editing, I’m interning for the marketing/publicity department to experience a different angle of publishing. I’m getting to do things like design email newsletters promoting books, creating pins for Pinterest, brainstorming book banner ads to put on WM’s website (the big ad scrolling through at the top), and perusing books for quotes and reflection questions to use for the daily e-newsletter, Inspired.  I also do the typical monotonous “intern” work like creating Excel spreadsheets and organizing bookshelves (but I kind of live for organizing bookshelves, so it’s ok).  BUT I would be leaving out the best part if I didn’t mention that I get FREE BOOKS!  Did I just die and go to heaven?  …I can find out after I read Mary C. Neal’s To Heaven and Back…which I just brought home with me today. Yes, that’s my marketing strategy right there. 😉

Though I’m only an English major and have never taken a marketing class in my life, this stuff seems to come pretty easily when it’s involving books.  I love sharing things I love with people, and that’s what marketing at WaterBrook Multnomah is.  I’m learning a lot about the ins-and-outs of publishing…and also that working 9-5 every day for the rest of my life starting next May is going to be sliiiightly rough.  Props to everyone already in the real world.

…But all I’ve said is just white noise.  I wanted to share what my life is like up here with the people I love, and that’s the reason for all the Colorado/WaterBrook info.  But that’s not the reason I’m writing this.photo 3

I’m writing because tonight I gained perspective.

Before coming to Colorado, I decided I wanted to get plugged into a church.  I decided to visit a pretty huge one in the area because I had heard a lot of good things about it, and it’s right next to my internship.  It was their college ministry that I visited, and I have to admit, I was a bit intimidated to walk into that big place.  But I needed not be afraid.  God had my back in so many ways.  He brought kind church members my way who remembered my name and introduced me to other visitors and had me feeling comfortable in no time.  He quelled my fears about the church itself when I heard a captivating, humbly-delivered, Word-inspired message and was led to worship Him with songs familiar to me and dear to my heart.

One of the songs we sang was “Revelation Song,” which begins:

Worthy is the 
Lamb who was slain.
Holy, Holy, is He.
Sing a new song to Him who sits on
Heaven’s Mercy Seat.

It’s funny how God uses familiar passages and lyrics to speak different truths into your life when you need them.  I’d never taken any particular notice to the fourth line before, but tonight it seemed to jump out at me:

Sing a new song to Him…

And I realized that’s what this summer is for me.  In their song “Lifesong,” Casting Crowns says, “Let my life song sing to You.”  If my life is a song, then this summer is a new one.  It simply can’t be a continuation of the same song I’ve been singing because that’s not how life works.

Taken from a bench in front of my building.
Taken from a bench in front of my building.

I just read Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist recently (yes, it’s a book; for teenagers, lots of language, kinda weird story, but has some pretty great quotes), which says, “Now I’m seeing we don’t live in a single song.  We move from song to song, from lyric to lyric, from chord to chord. There is no ending here.  It’s an infinite playlist.”

An infinite playlist of life. We move from song to song to song, from Dallas to Abilene to Oxford to Colorado Springs.  And through all these movements, the song we sing to Jesus changes too.  It has to.  We discover new things to praise Him for, new things to depend on Him for, new places to spend precious time with Him.

I want to sing a new song to Him this summer.  I don’t want to cling to the old and refuse to experience Him in a new way.  I want to offer fresh expressions of thanks, praise, adoration, obedience.  Because life is ever-changing, and the playlist shuffles with it.

*Also if any of you are interested, I ate leftover green beans with my meal today at lunch.  If that doesn’t scream “real world,” I don’t know what does.

Tell me what you think!

