Storybook lives

“My life story is the story of everyone I’ve ever met.”
-Jonathan Safran Foer, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Life is a story.  It’s made up of different characters.  There are plot twists, mysteries, romances, tragedies, and happy endings.  People come in and out of each of our stories, and without them, our unique tales wouldn’t be the same.

This summer, I have friends all over the map.  As I type this, I’m in Colorado while my dear friends are in East Texas, Dallas, Abilene, College Station, Orlando, and Africa.  To expand it even further, I have friends currently in Europe and South America, not to mention those spread out to the four corners of the States.  We each go different ways when the school year comes to a close, knowing we’ll see each other soon and excited to continue our individual stories over the summer.

But we’re not just living out our stories—we’re living the stories of each other.

People always say “I wouldn’t be the same without you!” and “I can’t imagine my life without you!”  But it’s really true.  I would not be the same person I am right now without the best friends and family I have.  A story with one character is incredibly boring, but a full adventure is made of many different characters who continuously walk in and out of it.

I know when I share my story, or even just a slice of it, with people here in Colorado, they’re getting a bit of my best friends’ story and my parents’ and sister’s, even without me mentioning their names.  They’re getting a bit of my high school part-time job employer’s story and pastor’s story and my teachers’ stories.  My life story is the story of everyone I’ve ever met.  And it’s fascinating to think that mine is being shared through the lives of everyone I’ve ever met—people all over the nation and world.

We’re all little storybooks walking around, sharing lessons and quotes and mannerisms and morals from the characters who’ve shaped us.  And in turn we offer their stories to the world as we live out ours.

Tell me what you think!

