“Everything”

The other night, “Everything” by Lifehouse came on my iPod as I was driving.

Now, if you don’t know this song, there’s a problem.  First of all, it’s been around forever (13 years, to be exact), so chances are you’ve heard it at some point.  Secondly, there was a video going around a while back of a group performing to it, and I would recommend watching that video if you haven’t already—it has over 20 million views.  Here’s the link.  Lastly, it’s a fantastic song.  I mean really incredible.

Some people interpret “Everything” as secular, but I can’t hear it and read the lyrics and not see Jesus.  If you haven’t heard it before or just haven’t processed the lyrics in a while, I’d encourage you to read them again. “Everything” is a beautiful, artistic monument of praise to God.  The singer is simply and openly telling God who He is, naming all the mighty characteristics of God he sees.

I love the end of the chorus that has the Lord rhetorically ask the singer, “How could it be any better than this?”  After listing all the wonderful attributes of God, the singer realizes God is everything.  What a great title for a song about the Lord.  He is everything that moves, fuels, guides, aides, speaks to, hears, comforts, loves, and saves us.  He is Everything.  I need that reminder—to constantly say to myself, “You have God.  You have Everything.  What more could you possibly ask for, Rebecca?”

Read these lyrics with fresh eyes (repetitive stanzas have been omitted).
To listen to it, see the video embedded below:

Find me here,
And speak to me.
I want to feel You.
I need to hear You.
You are the light
That’s leading me
To the place
Where I find peace again.

You are the strength
That keeps me walking.
You are the hope
That keeps me trusting.
You are the light
To my soul.
You are my purpose.
You’re everything.

How can I stand here with You
And not be moved by You?
Would You tell me,
“How could it be
Any better than this?”

You calm the storms,
And You give me rest.
You hold me in your hands.
You won’t let me fall.
You steal my heart,
And You take my breath away.
Would You take me in,
Take me deeper now?

And how can I stand here with You
And not be moved by You?
Would You tell me,
“How could it be
Any better than this?”

Cause You’re all I want,
You’re all I need,
You’re everything, everything.

Would You tell me,
“How could it be
Any better than this?”

Tell me what you think!

