The greater good

There’s this dialogue in The Incredibles that I love.  (Yes, it’s cheesy, but go with me here).  It’s the conversation between Frozone and his wife, Honey, and I bet you’ll remember it…

Frozone: Where’s my super suit?
Honey: What?
Frozone: Where – is – my – super – suit?
Honey: I, uh, put it away.
Frozone: Where?!
Honey: WHY do you NEED to know?
Frozone: I need it!
Honey: Uh-uh! Don’t you think about running off doing no daring-do. We’ve been planning this dinner for two months!
Frozone: The public is in danger!
Honey: My evening’s in danger!
Frozone: You tell me where my suit is, woman! We are talking about the greater good!
Honey: “Greater good?” I am your wife! I’m the greatest “good” you are ever gonna get!

incredibles_frozone_01 (1)I remember cracking up when I first watched this scene circa 2004.  My sister and I quoted it to the point of total annoyance and would honestly still laugh if we heard it today.

When we talk about the “Greater Good,” we generally mean the same Greater Good Frozone is referring to.  We mean doing something that will benefit the majority.  Doing something positive for society as a whole.

But I like Honey’s spin on it: the Greatest Good.  Adding that little “-est” ending makes all the difference in the world—it trumps the Greater Good, showing there’s a level higher than what we thought was the highest.  There’s something better than what we thought was the best.

This concept of Good, Better, and Best has been on my mind for months now. I have all these ideas of what I think is Good for me, but I try to challenge myself to strive for the Better thing.  I feel like I’m doing just fine, seeking out Better ways to live and praying for Better things, and that’s when God steps in and squashes it all.  He comes into the picture and says there are Best things.

And not only do Best things exist, but He says He won’t settle for anything less.  When I tell Him I want to go to this place because I think it’d be really really Good, He says this other place over here would be Best.  When I tell Him I’d really like this certain blessing in my life because it’d be Better than what I have now, He says to hold on a sec cause He’s working on whipping up the Best blessing I could imagine.  When I feel so much Better than I ever have in my walk with Him, He says He’s not satisfied.  He wants our relationship to be the Best it can be.

Richard Foster says it perfectly, “Frequently we hold on so tightly to the good that we cannot receive the greater good that we do not know.  God has to help us let go of our tiny vision in order to release the greater good he has in store for us.”  Just as aiding the Greater Good means benefiting society as a whole, God’s Best is also holistic.  His Best won’t just help one aspect of our lives, it fits into every part.

So I don’t want to settle for Good.  Because Good isn’t good enough for God. He desires the absolute Greatest Good for us in all things.  All things.  And He’ll give it to us if we let Him.

Tell me what you think!

