“Your” truth

In this age of acceptance, relative truth has become extremely popular.  Nothing is factual anymore, and everything is personalized in our individualistic nation.  One person’s religion may be “true for him,” while another’s is “true for her.”

This has always rubbed me the wrong way.

We want to “love” everyone, so we nod our heads when they proclaim blatant lies as fact.  When someone says we just can’t understand their truth because we haven’t lived their life, we roll with it.  But let me pause for a second and before I say anything else, ask,

Does that even make sense?

YourTruthWe’re rational people.  Regardless of our views, we know what the definition of “true” is.  (“In accordance with fact or reality,” according to the dictionary).  How does it even make sense to say something can be true for one person and not for another?

A rock to me is a rock to you.  A tree to me is a tree to you.  You can’t say a rock is a fish to you, or a tree is a river to you.  You’d be wrong. Because those things are facts—they’re realities. And if I go along with what you say, I wouldn’t be loving you.  I’d be enabling your ignorance.

This is what I firmly believe: God is truth.  He is a reality—an actual, living being with qualities and features.  And because of this, we can’t just attribute any qualities to Him or beliefs about Him that we want.  God is not a nebulous, obscure creature.  He’s an absolute Truth, one that can’t be changed.

Just because we don’t always know this truth doesn’t mean it isn’t there.  I can’t say with 100% certainty if free will or predestination is true (sorry for bringing that up again—it’s been a popular subject in my life recently) because the Bible doesn’t say it outright, but God does know which one is true.  There are specific answers for all the big questions we ask, we just don’t know them yet.  The Bible says there are mysteries of God that we’ll never know on Earth, but not knowing the answer doesn’t mean we can go around saying there’s not an answer and that we’re free to make up our own.

Instead, we should admit when we don’t know for sure and live our lives in constant pursuit of the truth.  Don’t let people say, “Well, that may be your truth, but it’s not mine.”  There is absolute truth out there, and you’re called to seek it.  And if you find it, share it with everyone…  Because it doesn’t just belong to you.

2 thoughts on ““Your” truth

  1. You were doing okay up until the ‘God is truth part’ There is not one single scrap of evidence that ‘it’ exists (I say ‘it’ because every religious person’s definition and idea of ‘God’ are so variant, as are their beliefs on how ‘it’ wishes for them to live their lives), and so your line of reasoning prior to this statement is completely contradicted by it.
    To base your philosophy of life and morality on a bronze-age belief system were people burnt witches at the stake and stoned people to death for working on a Sunday is just not intellectually honest; which I suspect, from the first half of this article, is something you are in–dare I say it–all other aspects of your life.
    I hope you don’t just dismiss me as a militant atheist because that would be a shame as I really only want to have an open conversation with religious people and try to understand and, if I may be so bold, help them think for themselves more.
    I’m not trying to plug or anything, as essays aren’t really my thing, but I’d love it if you read my discursive essay on religion and let me know what you think http://ryanallanwritings.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/an-innocent-faith/

    1. Hi, Ryan. I really appreciate your thoughtful commentary and exploration of my post! And I think your viewpoint is very worthwhile.

      It’s hard for me to adequately explain my heart behind this post…I guess it comes down to the fact that my faith in God isn’t just a belief for the sake of belief. It’s a personal relationship, like the ones I have with my friends and family. And though I do think there is some “evidence” that God exists, I don’t think it’s worth much discussion because, in the end, it comes down to trusting God and knowing Him. For me, that is enough evidence. And a relationship with Him is not just for the “chosen” or “privileged”…He promises to make Himself known to anyone and everyone who seeks Him with a genuine and open heart.

      As far as the terrible acts Christians have committed in the past (burning witches, stoning people, etc), I apologize on their behalf. Though many Christians do cherish their relationship with God, many are Christian only in name, and it is these who often unfortunately represent the whole. In addition, though I am striving to live in a way that honors God and loves others, I am not perfect. And I never will be. Christians are just as sinful as everyone else, and we will continue to make mistakes. It seems to me that people often grow angry when they feel that Christians are judging their imperfection, yet they expect Christians to be perfect themselves. I know that everyone–Christian or non–will mess up (sometimes in very big ways), but that is why I find such relief in the grace and forgiveness God offers through Jesus.

      If you enjoy reading, which I’m sure you do as a writer, I would recommend you check out Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. It’s a short but highly intellectual read–I think you’d enjoy it. The book explains Christianity at its core and would be very useful to someone trying to understand the Christian viewpoint.

      As far as your goal to help me think for myself more, I hope you can see from this post and others on my blog that my faith is not something that has just been handed to me or forced upon me. Critical thinking is something I strongly value, and it is through thinking for myself that I have come to such a firm belief in God. After exploring other options, nothing else makes much sense. Or offers any hope.

      I enjoyed reading your essay, and thank you again for your insight!

Tell me what you think!

